Skip to main content

What are the Types of Mandated Reporters?


2 min read

What are the Types of Mandated Reporters?

What are the Types of Mandated Reporters?

A mandated reporter is someone who is legally required to report suspicions of child neglect or abuse to the authorities. How do you know if you’re a mandated reporter?

A mandated reporter’s designation can vary by state to state, but, in most instances, it is typically a professional who works closely or frequently with children.

The professions most commonly mandated to report are:

School Personnel
Employees and administrators of public school, private schools, and post-secondary institutions, including:

  • teachers
  • teacher’s aides
  • teacher’s assistants
  • school employees
  • administrative officers
  • school administrators
  • school counselors
  • athletic coaches
  • assistant coaches
  • department of education employees

Childcare and Youth Program Personnel
Directors, administrators, employees, licensees, and personnel at:

  • childcare institutions
  • community childcare programs
  • headstart programs
  • daycare facilities
  • day camps
  • youth centers
  • recreation programs
  • youth organizations

Healthcare Professionals
All licensed health professionals, and certain trainees and interns, including:

  • physicians
  • psychiatrists
  • psychologists
  • registered psychological assistants
  • dentists
  • dental hygienists
  • podiatrists
  • psychiatrists
  • psychologists
  • chiropractors
  • licensed nurses
  • optometrists
  • certified EMTs
  • paramedics
  • coroners
  • medical examiners

Mental Health and Social Workers
Mental health professionals, trainees, and interns, including:

  • marriage and family therapists
  • clinical social workers
  • professional clinical counselors
  • alcohol and drug counselors

Law Enforcement and Public Safety Professionals
Employees of any police department, county sheriff’s department, county probation department, social services department, or county welfare department, including:

  • police officers
  • peace officers
  • firefighters
  • district attorney investigators
  • inspectors
  • local child support agency caseworkers
  • social workers
  • probation officers
  • parole officers
  • employees of school district police or security departments
  • animal control and human society officers
  • social services workers and evaluators

Members of clergy or similar functionaries of any church, temple, or recognized denomination, including:

  • priests
  • ministers
  • rabbis
  • religious practitioners
  • records custodians

Miscellaneous Reporters
Many states also require the following professionals to report suspected abuse, including:

  • commercial film and photographic print processors
  • public assistance workers
  • state and county public health employees who treat minors for VD
  • compensated child visitation monitors
  • employees or volunteers of Court Appointed Special Advocate programs
  • certain custodial officers
  • supportive services providers delivering services to children under the Welfare and Institutions code

Volunteers or Permissive Reporters
You don’t have to be any of the above professionals to report suspected child abuse or neglect. In many states, volunteers are allowed to report, and, in some states, anyone who suspects child abuse has a legal reporting requirement. Reporters who don’t have a legal obligation to report are also known as “permissive reporters.”

We all have a duty to protect children from neglect and abuse. Mandated and permissive reporters who report their suspicions and concerns of abuse can help save the life of a child who desperately needs help.

Recognize the signs of abuse.